ivasebo.blogg.se

Rusty lake hotel jesse cox
Rusty lake hotel jesse cox








rusty lake hotel jesse cox rusty lake hotel jesse cox

Though I did have some sort of Asterix and Obelix feeling throughout doing all the portraits, must be the cartoony roman feel. I think I achieved some nice variation in characters both purely based on shapes but also the different personalities. Went over the whole paining and rendered it, then added a gradation map (?) to get that brownish texture to better match the feel of the card. I accidentally painted on the wrong layer so the beak is a little rendered on this particular portait.Ĥ. Blocked in the painting with two values, simple light and dark separation. Inked the sketch using a somewhat rough brushģ. On this projekt I actually sketched out all portraits at the same time.Ģ. Begin with a pretty tight sketch, but not to tight as I want to leave some room for interpretation in the inking sketch. This porcess is not very different from how I usually approach these types of illustrations, but here is a quick breakdown of my process for the statues/portraits.ġ.

rusty lake hotel jesse cox

Sometimes feel that I went with a little too simple of design, considering how much time I spent trying to come up with other interesting ways to convey the information, in the end it’s probably just a sunken cost fallacy on my part. Partly because I had defined the graphic design with the leader card but also since I trough all the different iterations had made a bunch of unused graphic assets that could be reused for the other cards. Once I felt satisfied with the leader card (will probably never create non-character driven game) the other components came with very little struggle. Once I had an illustration I felt confident with and some direction for the graphic design I moved over from PS to Illustrator where I began drafting a more finalized design. I began the actual design of the game by simulationsly trying to define the direction for the artwork and for the graphic design. That is a 100% where to roman angle came in began drawing roman looking ducks and then I was stuck. I was also hugely inspired by Heiko Günther absolutely gobsmackingly beautiful redesign of “Glory to Rome”.

rusty lake hotel jesse cox

Always loved the style of those shorts, and would’ve loved trying out that water color style, but it didn’t really pan out with the sort of marble statue feel that I went with for the illustrations. Unfortunately I don’t know the name of the artist but my main influence was the 5Y short stories from the back of PK (The Duck Avenger, basically Donald Ducks superhero alter ego). Since I’ve mostly done Hanna Barbera influenced stuff I instead wanted to create something more in a Disney vain. Once I knew/thought I wanted to make the Quaddle game I began by looking for what art style to go with. If none of the players manage to gain more than 50% of the votes by the games end they all lose and democracy is maintained. This mechanic would be realized through a system where all players begin the game with the same numbers of votes behind them and then trough performing different actions during the game gain more votes from the other players or trough other channels, and when a player have more than 50% of the votes the may declare themselves emperor and win the game. The basic idea behind QVAK would be that the players take the roles of corrupt and power hungry senators in this roman analogue, all striving for more power and eventually enough support to declare themselves emperors. So this project instead morphed into a roman republic inspired game and not even remotely like how I imagined that Quaddle game, so I might return to that idea some day. I was initially just looking for a very quick and simple cartoony projekt, and something that had been in the back of my mind for ages ever since I saw it as a kid was the game Quaddle from the I guess now rather unknown cartoon Sitting Ducks (swedish dub), and I thought it would be kind of cool to try to realise that into a real game.










Rusty lake hotel jesse cox